Londont

Hey gals!

As usual, my life doesn’t compare to yours and your adventures. But I’ll give this post a go and see if there’s anything interesting to say.

Back in LondOnt, back in my childhood bedroom, back with my lovely family. I’m happy to be here but I miss Kingston a lot. I’ve never felt such a fondness for it. I thought that coming back from England I would resent Kingston, but it’s the opposite. I love the city we go to school in and wish I was there. I stayed for an extra week after all my friends left at the end there and I loved every minute of it. The lake glistens from our new house, Alexa. I can’t wait to live there. I realized that Kingston is where I feel free and real and I’m getting increasingly sad that there’s only one year left. It feels like home more so than London ever has. There’s something magical about Kingston and Queen’s that I can’t quite put my finger on, but that going away allowed me to discover. I hope you guys feel it too.

It’s hot here in fake London, summer weather (in the late 20s or 30s every day). I like the summer weather, but I feel like everything’s happening a bit too fast. I’m working on and off, getting ready for camp. I’m finally excited about it again, so thank goodness for that. I have big dreams for the summer and have already started a lot of programming that we’re going to put into action. A week from today my whole staff is going on a leadership retreat in Huntsville so I’m really excited about that. I can’t wait for the young ones to start bonding and realizing what a fabulous environment camp is. Every time I reflect on it, I realize I am who I am because of camp (for so many reasons). I wish I could convey what it is like to be among 50 staff members my age, older, and younger, who are supportive and kind 100% of the time.

I am so beyond stoked for school to start up again. I miss class, I miss doing readings, I miss Kingston, I miss thinking abstractly, and most of all I miss you guys. I miss the people and all the endless things we are able to do when we’re together. I’m trying to live in the present and love every second that I’m home but I can’t help imagining all that is to come. REALLY excited about MHAC (which I’ve already started working on!) and peer support and taps! Wahooo!!!!!

On May 1st, I talked to my friend Izzy, and she and I realized it had been 6 months since we hitchhiked Europe. It took my breath away. It feels like yesterday and the thrill is still there. The memories we have are worth the world.

I don’t have too much else to say. I have a pap test next week (SOS HELP) and I’ve been reading a bunch. I’m trying to figure out how to be the person I want to be all the time. Hopefully in the fall, when I’m not living at home, I can be. I’ve been trying to eat enough, because of the poetic injustice that goes along with “the young historian is starving herself.” There, I’ve said it. And I’ve been writing! I’m happy. It’s a good place to be. I hope you guys are too. I love you.

Syd xx

Leave a comment